HomeAll postsMiles Franklin breaks with tradition

Miles Franklin breaks with tradition

Miles Franklin breaks with tradition

The Miles Franklin Award is probably Australia’s most prestigious – and controversial – literary award.  One of the annual complaints is that, although named after a woman, the Miles Franklin does not usually shortlist many, if any, books by women authors.  Women rarely win.

This year the Miles Franklin longlist holds out significant hope for the short list and winner as eight women’s books have been shortlisted compared with two men’s books.

I bought one of these books to add to my TBR pile. Bet you can’t guess which book I bought.

The 2013 Longlist

Romy Ash


Biography, synopsis

Reading Notes – Floundering Reading Notes - Floundering

Brian Castro

Street to Street

Biography, synopsis

Michelle de Kretser

Questions of Travel

Biography, synopsis

Reading Notes – Questions of Travel Reading Notes - Questions of Travel

Annah Faulkner

The Beloved

Biography, synopsis

Tom Keneally

The Daughters of Mars

Biography, synopsis

Reading Notes – The Daughters of Mars Reading Notes - The Daughters of Mars

Drusilla Modjeska

The Mountain

Biography, synopsis

Reading Notes – The Mountain Reading Notes - The Mountain

M.L. Stedman

The Light Between Oceans

Biography, synopsis

Reading Notes – The Light Between Oceans Reading Notes - The Light Between Oceans

Carrie Tiffany

Mateship with Birds

Biography, synopsis

Reading Notes – Mateship with Birds Reading Notes - Mateship with Birds

Jacqueline Wright

Red Dirt Talking

Biography, synopsis

Reading Notes – Red Dirt Talking Reading Notes - Red Dirt Talking

Nalini is an award-winning writer and artist as well as managing editor of Dark Matter Zine.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

[mailerlite_form form_id=1]