League of Llamas by Allesah Darlison

League of Llamas

Book 1 – The Golden Llama; Book 2 – Llama Impossible; Book 3 – Undercover Llamas; Book 4 – Rogue Llama

A review by Emma Streeton

League of Llamas (aka LOL) is a laugh-out-loud junior fiction series featuring llamas as secret agents. With high action, great adventure and loads of laughs along the way, the League of Llamas series will delight young readers aged seven and over.

Together my bookworms and I binge read of the first four books in this fabulous series. The League of Llamas are action-packed from the first sentence with crazy llama antics and hilarious escapades. Needless to say the llamas drew us right in. We enjoyed every minute the stories offered us.

My bookworms found the play on words and clever puns very amusing. Darlison has done a great job appealing to the humor of this age group. Even parents reading alongside their kids will be equally hard pressed not to crack a smile.

Interspersed throughout the books are simple black and white illustrations which go with the stories perfectly and further enhance the readers experience. My youngest bookworm felt the illustrations were lacking in number but this does not detract from the overall level of enjoyment.

This series is sure to be a big hit with young readers and grown ups alike. We had a great time reading them in our house and we can’t wait to see what the llamas get up to next. Highly recommended and laughter guaranteed.

Book details

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
ISBN: 9781760894160 (first book)
Imprint: Puffin (Penguin Random House)
Format: Paperback; 128 pages for book 1
Category: children, humor