Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing 2015 Shortlist

The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing for 2015 has been announced. The shortlist is [drumroll please]

Idan Ben-Barak Why aren’t we dead yet

Trent Dalton Beating the odds

Christine Kenneally The past may not make you feel better

James Mitchell Crow Robots on a roll

John Pickrell Messages from Mungo

Michael Slezak Aliens versus predators

Winners will be announced by Business Council of Australia president, Catherine Livingstone AO on October 27 at an event hosted by UNSW Press and the Faculty of Science, UNSW.

The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing is an annual prize for the best short non-fiction piece on science written for a general audience. It is named in honour of Australia’s first Nobel laureates, William Henry Bragg and his son William Lawrence Bragg.

The Bragg Prizes are supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. The winner receives a prize of $7000 and two runners up each receive a prize of $1500.

All the shortlisted entries are included in The Best Australian Science Writing 2015, NewSouth’s annual collection featuring the finest Australian science writing of the year. The book will also be launched at the October 27 event.

Judges of the Bragg UNSW Press Prize 2015:

  • Professor Carla Catterall
  • Professor Merlin Crossley
  • Professor Tanya Monro
  • Professor Andy Pittman
  • Bianca Nogrady, editor of The Best Australian Science Writing 2015