Search Results for: canavan

Trudi Canavan in 2012

…quel stand-alone Magician’s Apprentice, and the Traitor Spy Trilogy. Trudi Canavan talks about all her novels, shows us her writing space and answered fans’ questions. In the video interview Trudi gives us a tour of her pinboard in her writing space. This is why the video interview is longer than the audio version. This interview is available as a podcast at the top of this post and on iTunes, Spotify, Blubrry, Stitcher, Pocket Cast, Castbox, Tune…

Rogue by Trudi Canavan

…matters more complicated, Dannyl’s old lover shows up and plays chaperone. Canavan writes about real issues relevant in today’s society. Gay and straight relationships are developed without fear nor favour, the only judgement passed being that of the societies in which the story is set. Drug use and addiction is a consistent theme in the story, including outcomes for addicts. About a third of the way through The Rogue there is a murder. Canavan do…

Trudi Canavan in 2011

Trudi Canavan in 2011: Trudi, a fantasy author talks to Dark Matter in 2011. The background noise in the cafe is so bad that this interview is only available in text. Trudi also talked to Dark Matter more recently in 2012, that interview is available as an MP3 here. Trudi Canavan talks to Nalini Haynes of Dark Matter about developing writing as her career, her novels and her recent author tour of Europe. Hello Trudi. I’ve been researching you on…

Trudi Canavan and Jennifer Fallon in conversation

by Nalini Haynes Trudi Canavan and Jennifer Fallon talked in a panel session about writing, their careers, interviews and more. Jenny opened the session by talking about how she and Ian Irvine were on a panel together, and had agreed to disagree with everything the other said in order to make the session interesting. Apparently this back-fired because they would start each response by saying, ‘I disagree da-da-da… but in this instance I actually…

Sydney Supanova: Friday including the opening ceremony

…emony Jana Oliver with Quinn at Supanova’s opening ceremony Colin Taber at Supanova’s opening ceremony Colin Taber at Supanova’s opening ceremony Trudi Canavan at Supanova’s opening ceremony Trudi Canavan at Supanova’s opening ceremony Trudi Canavan at Supanova’s opening ceremony Steve Worland, writer from Farscape and published author with Penguin Traci Harding…

The City We Became by N K Jemisin

…avan’s Black Magician series. I checked the dates: there’s no way I’d read Canavan’s series previously and yet I knew the blank spot on the map held a women’s refuge colony. To this day I do not know if Canavan’s series simply triggered memories of the considerable amount of previous reading I’d done or if I simply anticipated an inevitable outcome. Likewise with Jemisin’s The City We Became: while unique and compelling, this concept of cities’ av…

SF, fantasy, thrillers and comedies received for April/May 2014

…n – fantasy Mortal Fire by Elizabeth Knox – fantasy Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan – fantasy The Voices by F R Tallis – psychological thriller DVDs and blurays Cat Returns from Studio Ghibli Guilded Cage Princess Mononoke from Studio Ghibli Third Half Note with regards to review copies Memory of Water looks fabulous but won’t be reviewed because I cannot access my review copy from Eidelweiss. I’ve sent in a request for assistance but apparently I…

Continuum 9 Sunday: book launch, art and photos

…n launches Nora signed a stack of novels for me and we chatted while Trudi Canavan, multi-tasking, talked while sketching a landscape on a name plate. After Trudi left the room Nora spotted the drawing, much to Nora’s delight. I think Nora was going to try to keep it, so I hope she managed to protect it from erasure in some way. The Charming Brotherhood This panel featured m1k3y, PRK and Julia Svaganovic discussing the topic: “Sons of Anarchy has…

Rhiannon Hart in 2011

…I’m still trying to psyche myself up for that. Nalini: According to Trudi Canavan it gets easier. She said she is very shy. Rhiannon: Oh good. I’ve had to speak a couple of times for work and I’ve managed that okay. As long as I know I’ve got something to say. Tuesday night I was at the Inky Awards and these authors spoke and they were just amazing I was like ‘Oh God…’ The quality that is out there – and hearing Isobel Carmody speak and hearing J…

Creating Epic Fantasy panel: Raymond E Feist and other famous authors

Raymond E Feist, Kylie Chan, Traci Harding, Colin Taber, Trudi Canavan and Juliet Marillier talk about creating epic fantasy in novels in this Sydney Supanova 2013 panel. Although I received permission to video this panel, during the panel I was instructed to cease filming. Later the staff member returned, telling me I was allowed to resume filming; this is why the video is incomplete. Also, after packing up the camera and tripod then reassemblin…

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

…romance does not follow genre patterns nor is it predictable. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is brilliant. Read it if you enjoy superlative prose, complex characters, surprising plots and fantasy that raises the bar. Not as dark as A Song of Ice and Fire, Daughter will appeal to fans of Trudi Canavan and Jennifer Fallon. Book details Rating: 5 out of 5 stars ISBN: 9781444722659 ISBN e-book: 9781444722642 Publisher: Hachette Released: 2011 Format: pap…

Aaron Mannion

…ur eye glide over it? Nalini: I find I can’t proof read my own work. Trudi Canavan was telling me that she’ll have beta readers and they’ll each pick up 10% of the typos. A different 10% each, but on that basis you need at least 10 readers to proof read. Aaron: Have you ever looked at Project Gutenberg? They’ll have OCR text then they’ll have distributed proof readers and you could correct it, and they’ll have a master editor. That was an interest…

Ember and Ash by Pamela Freeman

…sweet Hollywood style ending, for which the author gets full marks. Spoiler ends. Ember and Ash is an enjoyable fantasy story recommended for fans of Terry Brooks, Sarah Silverwood and Trudi Canavan.   This article was previously published in Dark Matter issue 3, April 2011, and predated on this website to reflect the original publication date….